Login

Micro-Authorizations

A Micro-Authorization is a small, temporary charge that Bolt authorizes on a shopper’s card. The shopper then provides the value of the charge to Bolt to prove that that they have access to their account, enabling higher order approval rates for your business.

Micro-Authorization Workflow

  1. The shopper receives an email. This email notifies the shopper to look in their credit card account for a pending charge labeled BLT*Temp Verify Auth.
  2. The shopper selects Verify your order and is redirected to Bolt’s verification portal. Bolt verification portal
  3. The shopper enters the amount of the temporary charge and selects Verify your order to verify the transaction.
    • If the shopper enters the correct amount, Bolt approves the order.
    • If the shopper enters an incorrect amount three times, or if the shopper does not complete verification within 48 hours, the shopper’s order will be rejected.

Orders undergoing micro-authorization display in the Bolt Merchant Dashboard as Recently Rejected. If the customer successfully verifies, the status will move from Recently Rejected to Completed.

Example

micro-authorization email